Research projects

  • MIllimeter-wave NeTworking and Sensing for Beyond 5G(MINTS)
  • LOCalization and analytics on-demand embedded in the 5G ecosystem, for Ubiquitous vertical applicationS (LOCUS)
  • Técnicas Avanzadas para Potenciar la Inteligencia de las Redes 5G (TAPIR-CM)
  • Posicionamiento Preciso, Ubicuo y de Baja Latencia para la Innovación en redes 5G y Posteriores (PinPoint5G+)
  • A comprehensive Simulation Model for IEEE 802.11 for the ns-3 Network Simulator (NIST)
  • Past projects

    Professional activities

    Associate Editor IEEE Transactions on Communications, since 2010
    Editor for E-Letter of the Technical Committee on Multimedia Communications (MMC) in the IEEE Communications Society, 2013
    Guest Editor IEEE Network Magazine Special Issue on "Video over Mobile Networks", 2013
    Guest Editor Journal of Communications, Special Issue on "Network Coding and Applications", 2009

    General Chair IFIP WONS 2014
    Co-Chair IEEE CONWIRE 2013
    Publicity Co-Chair IEEE Infocom 2013
    TPC Co-Chair: IFIP Networking 2012
    General Co-Chair: MediaWin 2011
    Co-Chair: IEEE CONWIRE Workshop 2013

    Recent TPC memberships:
    IEEE Conference on Computer Communications (Infocom), 2008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014, 2015 (distinguished member), 2016, 2017, 2018 (distinguished member), 2019 (area chair), 2020 (area chair) – ACM International Conference on Mobile Computing and Networking (Mobicom), 2014, 2018, 2020 – USENIX Symposium on Networked Systems Design and Implementation (NSDI), 2021 – IFIP Networking, 2012, 2014, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020 – SIGCOMM workshop on Mobile Air-Ground Edge Systems (MAGESys), 2019 – ACM Workshop on Wireless Network Testbeds, Experimental evaluation & CHaracterization (WiNTECH), 2016, 2017, 2019 – IEEE International Symposiumon aWorld ofWirelessMobile andMultimedia Networks (WoWMoM), 2010, 2011, 2013, 2015, 2016, 2017, 2018

    Awards and Merits

    • Fellow of the IEEE, since 2020 (SM 2010, M, 2006)
    • Distinguished Member of the ACM, since 2019 (Senior Member of the ACM, 2010 – 2019)
    • Mercator Fellowship of the German Research Foundation (Deutsche Forschungsgemeinschaft, DFG), since 2017
    • Awarded the "Friedrich Wilhelm Bessel Research Award" of the Alexander von Humboldt Foundation (April 2016)
    • Received ERC consolidator grant in 2014
    • Awarded Ramon y Cajal research grant in 2013 (evaluation: 100/100)
    • Awarded a European Union Marie Curie Fellowship (7th Framework Programm, PEOPLE-COFUND)
    • Graduate student scholarship of the “Studienstiftung des deutschen Volkes” (German National Academic Foundation, grants scholarships to approximately the top ¼ percent of the German university student population)
    • Research fellowship of the German National Academic Foundation for studies at the International Computer Science Institute, Berkeley
    • DOCOMO Euro-Labs Company Award 2009 (jointly with Dr. Gerhard Bauch)
    • Best paper award IEEE WoWMoM 2014 for the paper “Practical interference alignment in the frequency domain for OFDM-based wireless access networks” and runner-up to the best paper award for the paper “Opportunistic beamforming for finite horizon multicast” at the same conference
    • Best paper award at ICST WICON 2010 for the paper “Broadcast video streaming in cellular networks: An adaptation framework for channel, video and AL-FEC rates allocation”
    • Best paper award at IEEE ICC 2009 for the paper “On quantizer design for soft values in the multipleaccess relay channel”
    • Best paper award at IEEE MediaWiN 2009 for the paper “Reliable broadcast streaming over 802.11 WLANs with minimum channel usage”
    • IEEE Communications Society Best Tutorial Paper Award 2008 for the paper “In-network aggregation techniques for wireless sensor networks: A survey”
    • Best student paper award at NGC 2001 for the paper “Extremum feedback for very large multicast groups”